Hermès gala bridles

Hermès scarves and squares

Hermes scarves and squares. Although she is best known in popular culture for her selection of handbags, Hermès is also famous for its silk scarves.

The silk scarf has become a classic and icon of the brand, often described as timeless, trans-generational, even mythical. By the time the fashion house decided to make squares, it had already been in business for a century. The very first to design works of art for these scarves was Robert Dumas, whose father-in-law was Emile Hermès.

In addition to their superb quality, Hermès squares are very versatile, making these accessories an excellent complement to any wardrobe. But how did the House of Hermès come to create this delicate luxury accessory?

The history of the Hermès silk square

It was in 1937 that Robert Dumas, then Director of Hermès, created the first square: "Jeu des omnibus et Dames blanches", inspired by a game of the popular Goose, with a nod to the inauguration of the Madeleine-Bastille line. (click on the image to see the square)

Hermes Square Game Of Omnibuses And White Ladies

Hermes gives the name "butterfly" to each little square of silk because each one is produced by the number of eggs (300) that a silkworm lays in a lifetime, or four hundred and fifty kilometers of silk!

This famous mulberry cocoon silk, imported from China, undoubtedly contributed to the immediate success of the square.

A meticulous handcrafted process

One of the reasons why Hermès squares are so popular is the meticulous process that extends over a year per creation. In general, the house publishes twelve models of scarves per year.

From design to production, it takes eighteen months to make a scarf.

Once a design has been selected, it is silk-screened in Hermès' French workshop. The printers used for production must be engraved for each new print, which can take more than seven hundred hours to implement.

The hems of the scarf are of course hand-rolled. This hem must never be ironed and must remain curved.

For each collection, Hermès selects different artists to create a hand-made scarf in a unique way. The detailed representations range from traditional equestrian prints to the most modern or even fanciful shapes, depending on the craftsman, and the precise details attest to the impeccable quality of each scarf.

The variety of shapes and sizes of Hermès squares

The classic square silk scarf is available in 20 cm (nano), 40 cm (gavroche), 70 cm (bandana heart), 90 or 100 cm (square) and 140 cm (shawl size).

The Twilly scarf, which is a long, narrow shape with diagonally hemmed ends, is available in the following sizes : Standard Twilly, Maxi Twilly Slim and Maxi Twilly Cut and are often used to dress up handbag handles in elegant women's handbags.

Squares are also produced in triangle and diamond shapes, available in Giant and standard sizes. The Diamond cut is an elongated diamond shape, which is available in the sizes Giant, Medium and Slim and also comes in a tie.

Hermes silk scarves are also available in pleated. The entire scarf is pleated from end to end, creating a structured texture against the silky fabric. It can be found in all shapes and sizes.

The uses for Hermès scarves are seemingly endless, ranging from the use of a square to adorn the handle of a Birkin or Kelly bag, to a diamond as a belt or headband.

Bloggers, celebrities and socialites are known for their creativity when it comes to attaching their scarves. One of the oldest icons of Hermes scarves is the Queen of England herself, who usually covers her hair with them.

Important designs

Originally, the illustrations were close to the equestrian world and hunting, then evolved towards animals, the arts, the Napoleonic epic, or the automobile, then sports in general with, for example, an edition for the 1984 Summer Olympic Games.

Nowadays, the drawings are very varied, from the most classical to the most contemporary and are all made in the workshops in the Lyon region and yet signed "Hermès Paris".

Each season, Hermès selects different artists to configure the designs by hand in a unique way, and the palette of styles that emerge from each process is extremely varied.

Each of the artists marks the collection with his or her own style, and the designers are carefully selected for their universe, which fits perfectly into the Hermès aesthetic.

For example, Alice Shirley is famous for her "Jaguar Quetzal" jaguar scarf, released in 2000 (click on the image to see the square) :

Hermès Square Jaguar Quetzal

Another famous Hermès motif is the "Harnais Français Premier Empire" print, designed by Hugo Grygkar in collaboration with Robert Dumas in 1956. The scarf alludes to the origins of Hermès as a manufacturer of harnesses and saddles (click on the image to see the square) :

Hermes French Square Green Blue Red And Yellow

This rare model is sought after by collectors because it is a representation of the history of the brand while summarizing its fundamental ideals: functional art that lasts.

In 1991, the "TSUBAS" square by Christiane Vauzelles was created. The motifs represent a Japanese weapon, notably the katanas, whose guard is called TSUBA. 5 TSUBAS are symmetrically arranged on the scarf: 1 at each corner and one in the centre. Four Samurai or Aori saddle flaps are beautifully decorated with dragons and other Japanese symbols. The square is titled 'Tsubas' at the bottom center in the bridle that borders the designs (click on the image to see the square) :

Hermès Tsubas green and pale pink square

We end the presentation of the squares with a great classic of the House of Hermès, a rather rare model: "Proues" designed by Philippe Ledoux in 1971 (click on the image to see the square):

Square 1

The history and know-how of the Hermès carrés are rich and varied, as is the product offering. Many of these scarves have become collector's items whose value and popularity continue to grow over time. The multitude of shapes, sizes and models ensures that one (if not many) of these items will suit the tastes and personalities of the brand's devotees, as they are an essential part of every refined woman's wardrobe.

Les foulards et carrés Hermès

brides de gala Hermès

À la recherche d'un sac de luxe d'occasion ?

Sur IconPrincess, trouvez des sacs de marques d'occasion garantis authentiques !

Bien qu’elle soit surtout reconnue dans la culture populaire pour sa sélection de sacs à main, la maison Hermès est aussi réputée pour ses carrés de soie.

Le carré de soie est devenu un classique et une icône de la marque, souvent qualifié d’intemporel, de transgénérationnel, voire de mythique. À l’époque ou la maison de couture décide de faire des carrés, elle est déjà en activité depuis un siècle. Le tout premier à concevoir des œuvres d’art pour ces foulards est Robert Dumas, dont le beau-père est Emile Hermès.

Outre leur superbe qualité les carrés Hermès sont très polyvalents, ce qui fait de ces accessoires un excellent complément à toute garde-robe. Mais comment la maison Hermès en est-il venu à la création de ce délicat accessoire de luxe ?

L’histoire du carré de soie Hermès

C’est en 1937 que Robert Dumas, alors directeur d’Hermès, réalise le premier carré : « Jeu des omnibus et Dames blanches », inspiré d’un jeu de l’Oie populaire, doublé d’un clin d’œil à l’inauguration de la ligne Madeleine-Bastille. (cliquez sur l’image pour voir le carré)

Hermès Carré Jeu Des Omnibus Et Dames Blanches

Hermès donne le nom de « papillon » à chaque petit carré de soie car chacun d’eux est produit par le nombre d’œufs (300) que pond un ver à soie dans une vie, soit quatre cent cinquante kilomètres de soie!

Cette fameuse soie des cocons de mûrier, importée de Chine a sans aucun doute contribué au succès immédiat du carré.

Un minutieux processus artisanal

L’une des raisons pour laquelle les carrés Hermès sont si appréciés réside dans le minutieux processus qui s’étend sur un an par création. En général, la maison publie douze modèles de foulards par an.

De la conception à la production, il faut dix-huit mois pour réaliser un foulard.

Lorsqu’un dessin a été sélectionné, il est sérigraphié dans l’atelier français d’Hermès. Les imprimantes utilisées pour la production doivent être gravées en fonction de chaque nouvelle impression, ce qui peut prendre plus de sept cents heures à mettre en œuvre.

Les ourlets du foulard sont bien sûr rouleautés main. Ce bord ne doit jamais être repassé et doit rester bombé.

Pour chaque collection, Hermès sélectionne différents artistes pour réaliser à la main un foulard de manière unique. Les représentations détaillées vont des imprimés équestres traditionnels aux formes les plus modernes ou même fantaisistes, selon l’artisan et les détails précis attestent de la qualité irréprochable de chaque foulard.

La variété de formes et de tailles des carrés Hermès

Le foulard classique en soie de forme carrée existe en 20 cm (nano), en 40 cm (gavroche), en 70 cm (cœur bandana), en 90 ou 100 cm (carré) et 140 cm (taille châle).

Le foulard Twilly, qui est une forme longue et étroite avec des extrémités ourlées en diagonale, existe dans les tailles suivantes : Twilly standard, Maxi Twilly Slim et Maxi Twilly Cut et servent souvent à habiller les poignées des sacs à main chez les élégantes.

Les carrés sont également produits en forme de triangle et de losange, disponible en taille Géante et en taille standard. La coupe Losange est un losange allongé, que l’on trouve dans les tailles Géante, Medium et Slim et qui se décline également en cravate.

Les foulards en soie Hermès existent également en plissé. L’ensemble du foulard est plissé de bout en bout, créant une texture structurée contre le tissu soyeux. On le retrouve dans toutes les formes et tailles.

L’utilisation des foulards Hermès sont apparemment infinies, allant de l’utilisation d’un carré pour orner la poignée d’un sac Birkin ou Kelly, à un losange comme ceinture ou bandeau.

Les blogueuses, les célébrités et les mondaines sont connues pour leur créativité lorsqu’il s’agit d’attacher leurs foulards. L’une des plus anciennes icônes des foulards Hermès est la reine d’Angleterre elle-même, qui généralement en couvre ses cheveux.

Les dessins et modèles importants

À l’origine, les illustrations étaient proches du monde équestre et de la chasse pour évoluer ensuite vers les animaux, les arts, l’épopée Napoléonienne, ou l’automobile, puis le sport en général avec, par exemple une éditions pour les Jeux olympiques d’été de 1984.

De nos jours, les dessins sont très variés, du plus classique au plus contemporain et sont tous réalisés dans les ateliers de la région lyonnaise et pourtant signés « Hermès Paris ».

Chaque saison, Hermès sélectionne des artistes différents pour configurer les motifs à la main de façon unique, et la palette de styles qui naissent de chaque processus est extrêmement variée.

Chacun des artistes marque la collection de son propre style, et les créateurs sont sélectionnés avec soin pour leur univers qui s’intègrent parfaitement dans l’esthétique d’Hermès.

Par exemple, Alice Shirley est célèbre pour son foulard jaguar « Jaguar Quetzal », sorti en 2000 (cliquez sur l’image pour voir le carré) :

Hermès Carré Jaguar Quetzal

Un autre célèbre motif Hermès est l’imprimé « Harnais Français Premier Empire », conçu par Hugo Grygkar en collaboration avec Robert Dumas en 1956. Le foulard fait allusion aux origines d’Hermès comme manufacture de harnais et de selles (cliquez sur l’image pour voir le carré) :

Hermès Carré Français Vert Bleu Rouge Et Jaune

Ce modèle rare est recherché par les collectionneurs car c’est une représentation de l’histoire de la marque tout en résumant ses idéaux fondamentaux : un art fonctionnel qui dure.

En 1991, le carré « TSUBAS » de Christiane Vauzelles voit le jour. Les motifs représentent une arme japonaise, et notamment les katanas, dont la garde s’appelle TSUBA. 5 TSUBAS sont disposés sur le foulard de manière symétrique : 1 à chaque angle et un au centre. Quatre rabats de selle Samouraï ou Aori sont magnifiquement ornés de dragons et d’autres symboles japonais. Le carré est titré ‘Tsubas’ au centre en bas dans la bride qui borde les dessins (cliquez sur l’image pour voir le carré) :

Hermès carré Tsubas vert et rose pâle

Nous terminons la présentation des carrés par un grand classique de la maison Hermès, modèle assez rare : « Proues » dessiné par Philippe Ledoux en 1971 (cliquez sur l’image pour voir le carré):

Carré 1

L’histoire et le savoir-faire des carrés Hermès sont riches et variés, tout comme l’offre de produits. Beaucoup de ces foulards sont devenus des objets collection dont la valeur et la popularité ne cessent de croître avec le temps. La multitude de formes, de tailles et de modèles garantit qu’un (si ce n’est plusieurs) de ces articles conviendra aux goûts et aux personnalités des inconditionnels de la marque car c’est un élément essentiel de la garde-robe de toute femme raffinée.

Carrés et foulards